Somehow falling down a set of outside stairs and landing in a heap at the bottom in snow with a computer, a cup of coffee and your purse upside down just isn't the way I planned on starting today. I have a full schedule today and right now I'm sitting in an auto shop waiting for my vehicle to get fixed. I guess I was rushing and not paying attention to the fact there was 4 inches of snow on the steps and I was wearing my clogs. I guess I wasn't looking where I was stepping on the ice that is piled up near the top of the stairs. Rush rush rush....
I started getting upset while I was laying on the ground and complaining and wishing my husband was there in front of me so I could blame him for not shoveling those damn steps off this morning, but I stopped, wiped the tears, brushed off the snow, picked up the rest of my stuff and got in my car and continued on, a little wet, a little sore (I'm sure a black and blue butt is in my future), but not totally defeated.
It's Monday! yea! I love Mondays! It's the beginning of a new week, a fresh start and way to start again! Most people complain about Mondays but somehow to me they seem bright and fresh and normally I feel ready to take on the world on Monday mornings.
I was down in NJ this weekend with my grandson. He has been sick so I went down on Wed evening to stay with him and help out. He is such a great kid, a very sweet sensitive boy. He loves his "Namma" and he tells me that and gives me hugs alot. :) I love it. He is a normal 2 year old, runs, plays, jumps, is loud and rambunctious --- and Namma is tired! So we got home last night and we were both exhausted - so we just walked through the snow and got inside and tried to just relax. I was ready for bed at 7pm, but Sunday nights are my favorite night for TV (It's a nasty addiction and I allow myself the Sun night rituals!) - so I stayed up until 11pm - needless to say when the alarm went off at 6am I was groaning and not happy. But I got up to get my week started with a bang - and BANG it was! When I hit the bottom of those steps I thought "yup - I am definitely starting today with a big bang"!
So my lessons learned - drink coffee BEFORE you leave the house - SLOW DOWN and WATCH where you are stepping - GET MORE SLEEP..---I guess it's all about perspective.....isn't it? Should I let this dictate the rest of my day? No.... Should I keep complaining and venting? No....
I've heard many people say that "it's not what happens to you - it's how you REACT to what happens" that matters. Yeah, yeah, yeah.... that is true BUT I swear if ONE MORE THING happens to me today I am going to go outside and scream at the top of my lungs and find my husband! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment