Sigh... I love my girlfriends - they really are the best people in the world. I feel so blessed to have more than 10 great friends. We travel together, we celebrate each others successes and cry over our set backs. We trust each other, and although we have a few squabbles here and there - if there was anyone in the world I could count on - it would be them.
Now, don't get me wrong, I love my husband and I love the fact we are married and building a great life together - but that just doesn't replace your "girls". My husband understands that I need my friends to hang out with, that they understand me better than he does at times, and that they are genuine caring people and I want them and need them in my life.
Not all of our husbands are like that - and that pisses me off. Why are some men so threatened by their "women" enjoying themselves without them? Why are some men so concerned that if they are not the center of their "womans' lives that "something is going on". I hate that.
So at times there will be one of our husbands or significant others who starts sulking or making us feel guilty that we have "girls" only events. At times like that I'd like to have a super power that could immobilize husbands and make them forget everything that just happened! haha.. wouldn't that be fun?
Or maybe my superpower should be to get inside their minds and make them realize that when the "girls" do get together and laugh, cry, and talk smack about our lives, it only benefits them! We become better wives and lovers when allowed to express ourselves and have a world outside of "them".
So - here is to the women in my life! You ROCK!!! And here's to the man in your life who understands it's important to have your "me" time! And to those who just don't get it ---- sigh.... hopefully you will someday before "your woman" wakes up to the fact that you are a donkey in a mans clothes. ;)
Wednesday, June 15, 2011
Monday, June 13, 2011
Friday, June 10, 2011
Frustrating? Or Fascinating? You be the judge!
It just might be me. It might not be. But my list of pet peeves seems to have increased over the past few years of my life!
I used to only be bothered by misspelled public signs - did I tell you the story of the time I went to a 10 year anniversary party for a towns local ambulance service and when I pulled up to the event the sign read: "Celebrating 10 Years! Your XXXX Ambluance Service"
Ambluance? huh.... did they not get in their car and read the sign through their mirror??
Some of my other pet peeves are cashiers at grocery stores that don't even acknowledge you when you start putting stuff on the register... especially if they are talking to a co-worker and ignoring you! Grrr... and another one is people who yell at their children in public, c'mon! would you do that to an adult? you big meany! And how about people who drive below the speed limit when I am in a hurry! ;)
I went to a conference recently and the woman who was speaking was awesome (Jackie Blasko was her name - if you get a chance to hear her, go) - one thing she said totally caught my attention - she said "everytime I feel myself thinking "this is so frustrating" -- I change the words and I put asmile on my face and I say "isn't that fascinating?"...
We all have pet peeves that we let get under our skin a bit too much. We all are in a hurry at times, we all think we are the center of OUR world (which of course, we are!) So the next time you find yourself gritting your teeth, frowning and seething inside...just smile and say "ISN'T that FASCINATING!"
I can't tell you how much stress this has saved me (and frustration -fascinating eh?)
I used to only be bothered by misspelled public signs - did I tell you the story of the time I went to a 10 year anniversary party for a towns local ambulance service and when I pulled up to the event the sign read: "Celebrating 10 Years! Your XXXX Ambluance Service"
Ambluance? huh.... did they not get in their car and read the sign through their mirror??
Some of my other pet peeves are cashiers at grocery stores that don't even acknowledge you when you start putting stuff on the register... especially if they are talking to a co-worker and ignoring you! Grrr... and another one is people who yell at their children in public, c'mon! would you do that to an adult? you big meany! And how about people who drive below the speed limit when I am in a hurry! ;)
I went to a conference recently and the woman who was speaking was awesome (Jackie Blasko was her name - if you get a chance to hear her, go) - one thing she said totally caught my attention - she said "everytime I feel myself thinking "this is so frustrating" -- I change the words and I put asmile on my face and I say "isn't that fascinating?"...
We all have pet peeves that we let get under our skin a bit too much. We all are in a hurry at times, we all think we are the center of OUR world (which of course, we are!) So the next time you find yourself gritting your teeth, frowning and seething inside...just smile and say "ISN'T that FASCINATING!"
I can't tell you how much stress this has saved me (and frustration -fascinating eh?)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)